miniheader curriculum

Home | Curriculum and Pedagogy | Learning and Teaching

Learning and Teaching

square08Effective learning and teaching at Good Samaritan Catholic Primary School "is a purposeful process that integrates the faith, cognitive, moral, emotional, social, aesthetic and civic learning needs of all" (DLTF CEO, Wollongong, 2008)

Good Samaritan is committed to creating authentic learning experiences for all to nurture the capacity of each learner in a way that is authentic and life-giving.

It recognises

  • promoting the self-esteem and dignity of the learner
  • acknowledging and catering for the diverse learning needs of all students
  • students' and their achievements at the centre of learning and teaching
  • integration of the essential dimensions
  • valuing and respecting teachers and their work
  • fostering reflective practices

Good Samaritan is registered by the NSW Board of Studies (BOS) and is subject to the curriculum requirements of the Board.  The new Australian Curriculum will most likely be implemented in 2013/14.

Requirements include an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with, the outcomes of Board of Studies syllabuses in the six Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of English, Mathematics, Science & Technology, Human Society and its Environment, Creative Arts and Personal Development, Health and Physical Education. In addition, a course in Religious Education is taught in theory and practice.

The Primary Curriculum is organised into Stages: 

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage. Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their Stage.